Dolores teaches Charms

So, although I thought I had quit ages ago, I am back on Neopets. Do not mock me! It’s fun. Shut up. Anyway, I’m still running my old adoption agency, but I also joined guild (club, for those not educated in the ways of Neopia) and am now a Slytherin in Repello Muggletum (no muggles allowed!)

I am also feeding my love of HP roleplay as I RP as Dolores Jane Umbridge, Senior Undersecretary to the Minister for Magic, Hogwarts High Inquisitor, and Head of the Muggleborn Extermination Registration Commision.

This is all well and good (and shitload of fun) but I am also teaching a Hogwarts class in character! Ms. Umbridge is teaching Charms class! Cuz she’s so charming right? Ah dur dur dur durrr. SO I will be thinking of lessons and super short homework assignments for my students and I thought I’d share Lesson Number One with my faithful blog readers (that’s all 2 of you, right?)

So here we go. It’s not really in character since she basically just tells them to read the textbook…

Lesson One ~ Exploring the roots of incantations

All spells have an incantation, normally spoken aloud, that is required to achieve the required result. In the case of non-verbal spells, the incantation must be focussed upon and clearly thought of in one’s mind. Incantations are often an actual word in an ancient language, or a closely related word. The most common root language is Latin, since Latin, in turn, is the root of most European languages today. Examples of Latin rooted spells include Levicorpus, Expelliarmus, Lumos, and Aquamenti. As you can see, some spells are comprised of a couple different words, depending on what the spell does. The more complex spells will have more roots that simple ones. For example, Lumos, which simply conjures a light, is in fact, the Latin word for light. Expelliarmus, the Disarming spell, is from the Latin “expelo,” to push out, and “arma,” weapon.

Your homework for tonight will be to find the exact Latin roots of the following spells:

  • Finite
  • Flagrate
  • Stupefy
  • Scourgify
5 responses to “Dolores teaches Charms

  1. I have never actually tried it, although back in the day I could have afforded to 😛
    My guildmates have though, I believe.

Leave a Reply

